3/9/2013

Looked that up

frost burned, briggsThis Weeks Words are from:

Frost Burned
[Mercy Thompson Book 7]

Patricia Briggs

Using the highlight feature on my Kindle, I’m now including the actual sentences the words were used in.

leather bar

3-9-2013 words

leather bar
Parse:
I
thought it meant something like to split hairs.

parse: verb 1. to analyze (a sentence) in terms of grammatical constituents, identifying the parts of speech, syntactic relations, etc.

2. to describe (a word in a sentence) grammatically, identifying the part of speech, inflectional form, syntactic function, etc.

3. to analyze (something, as a speech or behavior) to discover its implications or uncover a deeper meaning: Political columnists were in their glory, parsing the president’s speech on the economy in minute detail.

4. Computers. to analyze (a string of characters) in order to associate groups of characters with the syntactic units of the underlying grammar.

 “Ben [werewolf] half growled, half spoke, but I couldn’t parse anything he said.” Page 19 leather bar

Canids: Pointy teeth?

Canid: noun 1. any animal of the dog family Canidae, including the wolves, jackals, hyenas, coyotes, foxes, and domestic dogs.

“Ariana had a deep-seated and totally justified terror of canids.” [In this case Briggs stretches the word to encompass a werewolf and coyote shape-shifter, both still in human form] Page 32
leather bar

Détente: Makes me think of teeth again but not.

Détente [dey-tahnt; French dey-tahnt]

Noun: a relaxing of tension, especially between nations, as by negotiations or agreements.

“It would destroy the détente between those who want to kill the [were] wolves and those who want to see them as good people with a terrible disease.” Page 52

Bottom BAR Looked That UP

Images are segments of art from wikimedia commons.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Grijze_Wolff.jpg

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Loup_garou.jpg

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/ae/NIE_Wolf_%26_Coyote.jpg

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. KW

     /  03/09/2013

    I knew détente, but I wonder if parse means similar to diagramming sentences when we were in junior high-remember all those stupid lines sticking out for each part of speech. Really enjoy these, Karen. 🙂

    Reply
    • I thought of those diagrams too. I just looked it up. Wikipedia says sentence diagrams are also called a parse tree 🙂 who knew? Wikipedia also said they are still taught by some educators.

      I’m glad you like these blog posts. I suspect you are a word wonk like me 🙂
      There are so many words I think I know, but I’m not quite sure. I love that now on Kindle I can just move the cursor to the word and it gives me the meaning without pulling to far out of the story. And now I learned to press enter on the word and it highlights the word and gives me a list of my highlights with tittle, author and page numbers in “My Clippings”
      Cool technology.

      Reply
  2. Nan

     /  03/10/2013

    The series of books I’m reading has Scottish & Gaelic. I know some or can figure it out by gist of the sentences. I usually have no clue how to pronounce them so I just kind of run over it. The problem with that is that this is a series so I the words come up a lot. Ken? (Ken – means know or some form of know.)

    Reply
  3. Nan

     /  03/10/2013

    OK – had to google it. Now I need to google some more words.
    ken:
    To ken is to know. The past tense and past participle is kent.
    The word is in frequent everyday use everywhere in Scotland, with the exception of the Glasgow area.
    I kent I’d find ye here.
    …D’ye ken wee Quigley fae Darvel?
    …It’s nice to see a weel-kent face.
    Ken is also used as a filler word to make a pause in speaking or add slight emphasis to a statement in the same way as ‘you know’.
    Mickey Weir’s no playin’ for the Hibs the day, ken.
    I kent his faither is a derogatory phrase used to remind those who have achieved success (especially if achieved away from Scotland) that they are no better than anyone else.
    Burn’s simple, defiantly human assertion that ‘a man’s a man for a’ that’ is inevitably recycled as the reductive and degrading putdown ‘I kent his faither’.
    The word ultimately derives from the Old Norse kenna to perceive.

    Reply
    • It’s a wonder we managed to cope before google, ken?
      For some reason I knew the word ken. I kent the word to mean understand. I have seen it used with do you, Do you ken?

      Reply

Your thoughts here: Please leave name or nickname so you are recognised upon your return to comments :)

