Not “Saturday… Just Saying 1/19/2013

I apologize for the missed post last weekend, Jan 12, 2013.

I’ve never skipped a post before but two issues came to play.
1. I was recovering from the flu.

2. I have been bored with the famous author’s Rules for Writing posts and couldn’t force myself to do another while sick.

So I’m starting a new variety of posts for words I looked up while reading. Praise to Kindle, I can move the cursor to a word in a novel and the definition pops up. So when I think, “Huh?” or “Does that really mean what I think it does?” I can and do  check it out before I forget.

Looked that up

This week’s words all came from

Hounded, Book 1 of The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne.

I’m enjoying this story and Hearne’s vocabulary will keep me supplied in words that made me wonder.

zounds

Zounds? Yep it’s a word, an archaic “euphemistic shortening of God’s wounds” (oddly it’s pronounced like pound.)

Zounds is “A mild oath indicating surprise, indignation etc.”

chicanery

Chicanery? Not related to style.

Chicanery: 1. Trickery or deception by quibbling or sophistry. [had to look sophistry up too!]

2. A quibble or subterfuge used to trick, deceive, or evade.

fricative

Fricatives? Not a category of swear word.

Fricative: Adjective: a speech sound characterized by audible friction produced by forcing the breath through a constricted or partially obstructed passage in the vocal tract; spirantal; spirant. Noun: A fricative consonant, as (th), (v), or (h).

My source for definitions: http://dictionary.reference.com/

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. KW

     /  01/19/2013

    Hey, these are great and fun! I knew the first two words but not the last one. Next time, how about using them in a sentence; that always helps me cement the meaning in my old brain.

    Reply
  2. Nan

     /  01/20/2013

    I knew chicanery but not the others. This is neat.

    Reply
  3. You know how I love words–this is a very cool thing. I’m with the commenter that needs a sentence of example, please. I’m struggling a bit with ‘fricative.’

    Reply
    • I was tempted to quote the actual sentence the author used the word in but rejected the idea. Jotting down the words on paper is disruptive enough to the reading process, writing exact sentences so I can quote then–too much!

      Dictionary.com doesn’t give a sentence for zounds or fricative. How ’bout
      “ZOUNDS, I forgot to post last week!”
      and
      The toddler was unable to pronounce words that began with FRICATIVES.” (Not something that comes up in everyday conversation.)
      and from Dictionary.com:
      “He resorted to the worst flattery and CHICANERY to win the job.”

      Reply

Your thoughts here: Please leave name or nickname so you are recognised upon your return to comments :)

