Saturday…Just Saying 8/18/2012

Selma Lagerlöf, 1858 – 1940

Selma Ottilia Lovisa Lagerlöf was a Swedish author and the first woman to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. She is best known for her children’s book Nils Holgerssons underbara resa genom Sverige (The Wonderful Adventures of Nils) and adult novels Jerusalem, and Gösta Berlings saga (The Story of Gösta Berling.)

Image of Lagerlöf by Atelje Jaeger, Stockholm commons.wikimedia.org

A section from painting A Family Merrymaking by Jan Miense Molenaer at commons.wikimedia.org

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. One of my teachers commented this week that she worried I must get bored sitting in on her class. I told her not to worry because I have an active and entertaining inner life. It’s so true, isn’t it? Don’t you think writers are always writing, even when there is no blank page before them? I am never bored.

    Reply
  2. I have ADHD there has always been a party going on in my mind! Now in my 50’s it’s worse.
    And I agree writers are working even when there isn’t paper in front of them. James Norman Hall explains in this Feb posts: http://klerosier.com/2012/02/04/saturday-just-saying-23/james-norman-hall/

    Reply

Your thoughts here: Please leave name or nickname so you are recognised upon your return to comments :)

