Top Ten Mishaps that Didn’t Break my Kindle

My worried protectiveness for my Kindle eased with time. As a result there have been mishaps and close calls. I prefer to read with the Kindle out of its protective cover and that’s proven to be a risky habit, along with sleeping and owning cats.

Pictured: Smog and Smoke

  .
Read in the hot tub with Kindle in a Ziplock.
Which by the way worked well, I could turn pages right through the bag..
  .
Almost stepped on Kindle lying on floor next to bed.
I fell asleep reading but didn’t even realize I dropped the Kindle.
  .
Left the Kindle in a tote bag in the sun all afternoon on a 98 degree day.
The shade moved forgot Kindle was in there.
  .
Dosed off while reading in an armchair and dropped the uncovered Kindle
. The landing thud on rug woke me.
  .
Husband propped his feet on the coffee table and the Kindle.
He didn’t realize his calf was resting on the back of the Kindle. I set it face down and left for only a minute or three.
  .
Woke in morning with Kindle in bed with me. I fell asleep reading.

Late Breaking Mishap: Last night I fell asleep, dropped the Kindle which toppled to the floor banging the nightstand on the way. It was fine. Strange timing, I wrote this post weeks ago.

  .
Cat jumped from window sill to my nightstand landing ON my Kindle in the harder case. Smoke weighs 16 lbs.
  .
Cat knocked over my coffee mug on table where Kindle rested
in cover but open (like a book.) Inside cover got wet but only a few droplets hit Kindle and screen. Don’t know which cat did it, both went running.
  .
Played addicting word game and wore “E” off the Kindle keyboard. Strangely the safest, most reasonable behavior is the one thing that caused any harm. That’s another blog post.
  .Smog’s Paws

Please share your Kindle Mishaps (or pbook mishaps) in a Comment.  

(pbook= printed book like ebook = electronic book)

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Avid reader

     /  09/27/2011

    My first kindle (which was the original one made) was knocked off the coffee table by my dog and the screen was messed up, so I got a replacement. Then about 3 months later, I dropped the this one walking down the stairs, again the screen was damaged. When I called customer service this time, there were no available original kindles, so I upgraded to a new KIndle 2. I was very careful with it after that considering my history. Eventually I upgraded to a Kindle 3, without any damage to my 2, although I know I dropped it on several occasions. I have dropped my Kindle 3 at least half a dozen times, and then pick it up, holding my breath that I didn’t break the screen. Maybe the 3 is sturdier built? Knock on Wood, Lol.

    Reply
    • Thank you for sharing.
      I’m really glad this one is holding up.
      I read a forum or blog somewhere with all these horror stories about broken Kindle screens and it worried me. Your story makes me wonder if they were talking about earlier generations. Since I jumped in at the 3rd generation Kindle I forget about older ones. Maybe I can stop freaking every time I drop it. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Bobbie

     /  09/27/2011

    Great to hear that kindles are made
    sturdier than they look. There were some very different situations kindle could have been hurt but was not! So glad kindle is still in 1
    piece and working!

    Reply

Your thoughts here: Please leave name or nickname so you are recognised upon your return to comments :)

