You can Borrow Kindle eBooks from the Library now

With a valid library card you can borrow a Kindle ebook from your local library’s website as long as the library offers OverDrive digital services.  To order, just click on “Get for Kindle” and sign into your Amazon account. The selected book will be delivered to your Kindle or reading app wirelessly using Wi-Fi or transferred via USB. When your loan period is over, the ebook “expires”. I love that—no late fees.

The selection and availability of ebooks will vary with individual libraries. The time length of your Kindle ebook loan is determined by the loaning library, not Amazon or the Kindle Store.

For F.A.Q’s about Kindle eBook Library Lending click here.
Amazon 9/21/2011 Press Release click here.

I stopped borrowing library books years ago. It was too expensive for me. I’m rough on books; I eat with them and sleep with them; I forget to return them and I ended up with embarrassing tabs of  late fees and fines.  I think it’s time to get a library card and start borrowing Kindle ebooks. Hopefully my rural community library offers OverDrive digital services. When I get around to getting a card and trying to borrow my first ebook, I’ll blog a post about my experience.

Question to Readers, who do not own a Kindle:

Does the ability to borrow library ebooks alter your opinion about owning a Kindle?

Of course comments from those who already own a Kindle are desired as well.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Bobbie

     /  09/23/2011

    Even though the library will let us check
    these fancy gadgets, I will stick to the old fashioned books. Very rarely do I need a book for something. Kindles are just not worth the $ for me.

    Reply

Your thoughts here: Please leave name or nickname so you are recognised upon your return to comments :)

