What are You Reading this Week?

I’m Reading:  Beneath the Skin by Adrian Phoenix.

Book 3 (of 5) in the Dark Urban Fantasy Maker’s Song Series, preceded by Rush of Wings and In the Blood.

Adrian Phoenix is an amazing writer, poetic yet gritty. This is not your typical Urban Fantasy Vampire series. I admit I had to struggle to I relate to the characters in the first book, especially rock star Dante, the enigmatic vampire (and something else) with a fuzzy grip on reality and personal boundaries. At the end of the first book I was intrigued and needed to know more. Within the pages of book #2 the hook was set deep, I came to empathize and care about Dante, Heather, Lucien, Von, and slew of other characters, most of whom are not what they seem to be. I’m only a third into Beneath the Skin and Phoenix has reeled me in under her spell.

Teen at Target is Re-readingHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,  J.K. Rowling
Checkout Woman at Target is Reading:
Now You See Her by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge
One of my Nephews is Reading:
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
My Daughter is Reading:
Door to December by Dean Koontz

Learn More:
Adrian Phoenix: http://adrianphoenix.com/
Neil Gaimen:  http://www.neilgaiman.com/
James Patterson: http://www.jamespatterson.com/
Dean Koonz: http://www.deankoontz.com/
Michael Ledwidge: http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/l/michael-ledwidge/
J. K. Rowling: http://www.jkrowling.com/

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Bobbie

     /  08/01/2011

    I am really not into reading those kind of books, but happy reading to you folks!

    Reply
    • That’s okay Bobbie, not asking for any “kind” of book. Just an invitation to share what you are reading. It doesn’t mater what if it’s hardbound, paperback, or ebook; the only thing important is that you are enjoying reading the book. Your opinion maters to me.

      I don’t judge a person by their book cover 🙂

      Reply
  2. Mary D.

     /  08/01/2011

    Rereading Mansfield Park by Jane Austen as part of a “re-read all the Jane Austens” goal I have. My paranoid alter ego is reading “63 Documents the Government Doesn’t Want You to Read,” by Jesse Ventura. OK, he’s a bit “in-ya-face,” but he does compile a group of CIA/FBI/other documents which were declassified over the last few years which are disturbing. And, I really have no reason to believe he just made up these documents. If this is where my tax money has been going, I think I know where we can begin to make some very large spending cuts, if you begin to look at these documents and realize what sort of budget for these sorts of things would have to be in place in order to accomplish this stuff. Worth reading, but not entertaining in any “feel good” sort of way. I just like to elevate my blood pressure, apparently.

    Reply
    • I’d love a top ten Jane Austen book list from you.

      As to your paranoid alter ego…breathe in slowly, breathe out, again!
      Sometimes it’s so obvious why we relate to each other so much!

      By the way, the little avatar assigned to you is created using your name somehow.

      Reply
  3. Nancy Umstead

     /  08/02/2011

    I just read Who Let That Killer in the House by Patricia Sprinkles. I’ve never heard of her before. This is from her “Thoroughly Southern” series. It was pretty good but kind of hokey. She introduced too many characters in the 1st few pages & had me confused. She had a list at the front of the book which was a good thing because I had to keep refering back to it to see who everyone was. I was filling in at a client’s house for two 10+ hour days & needed something to read. She used to be an avid reader but can’t see well enough to read anymore. She had lots of books in a back room. She had several others in the same series so I will probably read another one if I have to fill in for her again.

    Reply
  4. I’ve found good Authors that way. Maybe the series will grow on you in the second book.
    Thanks for your comment.

    Reply
  1. Cross Fire by James Patterson [Paperback] 2010 | www.nollybook.com

Your thoughts here: Please leave name or nickname so you are recognised upon your return to comments :)

